A night of celebration as winners are announced at the ABB LEAF AWARDS 2017

2017-09-27 - On the evening of 21 September, more than 140 of architecture’s leading figures gathered at London’s Royal Horseguards Hotel to celebrate the projects and personalities that have made the biggest impact upon our built environment, and the international design community, over the last 12 months and beyond. During a gala dinner the awards were handed out across 19 categories.
Highlights on the evening included II BY IV DESIGN from Toronto receiving the Overall Award for The Residences of 488 University Ave, an accolade bestowed upon the project chosen by the ABB LEAF Awards judging panel as the best shortlisted entrant across all categories. Architect, academic and educational trailblazer Sir Peter Cook was honoured as this year’s recipient of the Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Following a longstanding relationship with the event, this year witnessed pioneering technology leader ABB join as headline partner and trophy patron, a move that recognised both parties’ emphasis upon honouring the best and brightest in global architecture and design, and ABB’s commitment to positioning itself as a collaborative partner for the global architect community with the technology to bring many architectural visions to life.

The judging panel included Alan Crawford, the Crawford Partnership; Andrew Bromberg at AEDAS; Firas Hnoosh, Perkins+Will; Kai-Uwe Bergmann, BIG; Michael Clark, AEDAS; Michele Pasca di Magliano, Zaha Hadid Architects; Paolo Rossi, SOM; Theo Nicolaou, Areen Design; Vanessa Brady OBE, SBID president and Viviana Muscettola, Zaha Hadid Architects.

Upon receiving his award Sir Peter Cook said: “To be given a Lifetime award by the ABB Leaf organisation is serious stuff. It makes me look again at my work and realise that - since it is being taken seriously - I should reiterate again and again its espousal of the experimental, the investigatory and - sometimes- the audacious in architecture. Even at the age of 80 I regard my next building as potentially my best, my next book as my most readable and my next lecture as my naughtiest. I feel truly honoured.”

“As a company at the forefront of developing relevant technologies for the design and construction industry, we were delighted to be the headline partner and trophy patron for the 2017 awards,” commented Katrin Förster, International Key Account Manager for Architects and Interior Designers at ABB, as the evening was drawing to a close.

“It was fantastic to see the diverse number of entries into the ABB LEAF Awards from around the globe. It must have been a tough but inspiring job for our highly experienced team of judges to select the finalists and then the winners. The atmosphere tonight has been brilliant and I would like to pay congratulations to everyone who was shortlisted and those masterpieces crowned winners of their category.”

A full list of the winners of the ABB LEAF Awards 2017 can be read below. For details of all shortlisted entrants, please visit www.arena-international.com/leafawards.

The ABB LEAF Awards 2017 Winners List

  • Overall Winner, II BY IV DESIGN, The Residences of 488 University Ave, Toronto, Canada
  • Lifetime Achievement of the Year, Sir Peter Cook
  • Developer and Development Project of the Year, CoCo Architecture, Olemps, France
  • Best Façade Design and Engineering of the Year – sponsored by INOX-COLOR; ASTAD, National Museum of Qatar, Doha, Qatar
  • Urban Design of the Year, Yazgan Design Architecture Ltd Co, Hamamyolu Urban Deck, Eskişehir, Turkey
  • Best Future Building of the Year (Under Construction) Atelier(s) Alfonso Femia, Dallara Motorsport Academy, Parma, Italy
  • Best Future Building of the Year (Drawing Board), Andrew Bromberg at Aedas, Chengdu City Music Hall, Chengdu, China
  • Best Sustainable Development of the Year (Future), Cerno+Architekten, Extension of the Family House, Bratislava, Slovakia
  • Best Sustainable Development of the Year (Completed), GRUENTUCH ERNST ARCHITEKTEN, German School Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • Public Building of the Year, SSH, Sheikh Abdullah Al Salem Cultural Centre, Kuwait City, Kuwait
  • Refurbishment of the Year, Tabanlioglu Architects Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanlioglu, Beyazıt State Library, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Hospitality Building of the Year (Future), ENOTA, Tetusa Oasis Resort, Cesme, Turkey
  • Hospitality Building of the Year (Completed), WOW ARCHITECTS | WARNER WONG DESIGN, Vommuli Island, Maldives
  • Commercial Building of the Year Award, Design Unit, Factory in the Forest, Penang, Malaysia
  • Interior Design Award (Future), Sponsored by Axolight; II BY IV DESIGN, The Residences of 488 University Ave, Toronto, Canada
  • Interior Design Award (Completed), Sponsored by Axolight; Nikken Space Design, XIV Toba Bettei, Toba-shi Mie Prefecture, Japan
  • Residential Building of the Year (Multiple Occupancy), Sanjay Puri Architects, Ishatvam 9, Ranchi, India
  • Residential Building of the Year (Single Occupancy), Studio MK27, Jungle House, Sǎo Paulo, Brazil
  • Mixed-Use Building of the Year, Labics & 3TI PROGETTI, City of the Sun, Rome, Italy